Hunter education safety requirements
According to South Dakota law, all hunters who are younger than 16 years of age must complete hunter education certification in order to hunt in South Dakota.
Become a safe hunter
The purpose of hunter education is to develop knowledge, skills, and behaviors necessary to become safe, responsible hunters.
The online course
Typically, students meet these needs by attending a traditional, instructor led course including classroom lectures and field/range experiences. In today's society, students have less free time to devote to attending a hunter education course. Online hunter education courses help address this, by allowing students to take hunter safety courses on their own time, at their own pace and in the comfort of their home or office.
You may ask
FAQ - South Dakota Hunting Safety Course and Hunting License
- Is the Beasafehunter hunter course approved by the state of South Dakota?
No. We are not approved yet.
- Is there a minimum age to take this online education course?
Yes, you must be at least 11 years old.
- Is my Hunter Education Certificate good in other states?
Every U.S. state that demands a Hunter Education Certificate will accept Hunter Education Certificates from other states that conform to IHEA requirements as well.
You should follow your safety course in the State where you are resident.
- Does the Hunter Card expire?
No. It is good for life.
- Who is required to take the Hunter Education course in South Dakota?
To purchase a hunting license you must have completed an approved Hunter Education Course if you are under the age of 16.
- What types of South Dakota Hunting Licenses are available?
View the full list of South Dakota Hunting Licenses through the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks.